Greed

This next piece is the sin of greed. Greed is something that all human have. No matter if it’s money, love, power. Human will have greed for something at some point. With this in mind, I set off to look for inspirations on what content and individuals I should put together for this piece, I wasn’t too worried about this piece as it feels quite an easy one for me. Greed somehow feels like something that could easily be found everywhere or anyone. But of course, the problem remains in finding suitable pictures to be put together.

It took me quite a while but I found a painting that is suitable for what I envision this piece to be. The action fits what I wanted so I decided to use it. The painting is called ‘The Last Supper’ but from the “The Passion of Christ: A Gay Vision.” It is another version of the last supper painting which was a series of 24 paintings by Douglas Blanchard.

Before I go into what the painting looks like I will talk about what I thought of and decided to put into the painting. As I have mentioned, everyone has their own greed for something but certain individuals are way over the concept of greed itself. There are no other words that I could think of as of now but these individuals I could think of are Vladimir Putin, Donald Trump, and Najib Razak, who is now the former president of the country Malaysia.

The reason why I have decided to use them as the characters for the piece of greed is that they all have the same characteristic. They all love the same thing and yearn for more, which is money, and power. Because the painting itself looks like it has people who look confused and dissatisfied with other emotions, looking at the 3 people in the middle, in my mind, it fits so well to what I wanted.5 The Last Supper

So I made up my mind and replaced the face with the three individuals that I have mentioned. Though I do not know much about politics from what I see Putin seems to be at the top of this hierarchy so I put him in the middle while the other two guys beside, making it so as if he is the boss of them.greed

After putting it together I there was an immediate idea of cutting out the background and make it as if they are thinking of different things. So I did, and the result was funny to me and I felt that it works. The idea of putting them together is that they are the prime ‘representative’ of humans who have neverending greed. And by making it as if they are thinking of something of their own shows that they have their own greed for something.greed2

As everything progresses I decided to add something else to the table to emphasize what is the thing that people greed the most, so I added money.greed final.jpg

Reference:

Cherry, K. (2018). Day 3: Jesus has a Last Supper, prays alone and is arrested (Gay Passion of Christ series). [online] Q Spirit. Available at: http://qspirit.net/3-last-supper-prays-alone-arrest-gay-passion-of-christ/ [Accessed 1 Aug. 2018].

Facebook.com. (2018). Douglas Blanchard Fine Art. [online] Available at: https://www.facebook.com/Blanchard.art/ [Accessed 17 Aug. 2018].

Archive.government.ru. (2018). Official Website of the Government of the Russian Federation. [online] Available at: http://archive.government.ru/eng/multimedia/photo/2010/?page=8 [Accessed 17 Aug. 2018].

Ellines.com. (2018). Platon Antoniou – The King of Portraits. [online] Available at: https://www.ellines.com/en/achievements/4029-the-king-of-portraits/ [Accessed 17 Aug. 2018].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment